Momo has gotta be one of the cutest manga I’ve ever read

Standard

Momo-chan is the cutest, noda! Want to hear about Momo-chan, noda?

Even though this manga is not finished and I’m not supposed to review it yet, it’s one of the best shoujo manga I’ve read in a long time and I just can’t resist :P So I’ll just bend this rule a bit and talk about what I like about this manga. This does not count as reviewing, since I am not rating it a number and not commenting on specifics.

 

Recently, all I’ve been doing recently is reread manga I’ve read before, for example I have read Kamikaze Kaitou Jeanne 3 times (no skipping, I swear) and Full Moon wo Sagashite and Shinshi Doumei Cross both twice. So Momo was really a big breath of fresh air. Not that Arina’s mangas are bad, they are not and and that is why I’m reading them over and over again, it’s just that it’s quite refreshing to read a very good manga that I don’t already know the ending to.

 

I love Momo so much that I might even starting adding her in my blog posts. Little quick comments from the virtual Momo-chan, I think, would be very cute and funny :)

BUT I GOTTA SAY, this manga ROCKS!!!!! :D

Synopsis from My Anime List:

“On her sixteenth birthday, the unlucky, unmotivated and good-for-nothing Odagiri Yume saves the high-classed and lovely Momo, who claims to be the Devil. Yume confesses her wish to become special and Momo grants it: she makes Yume the representative of the earth! From now on her sixteenth birthday until her eighteenth, Yume has to give Momo seven good reasons as to why she the earth shouldn’t be destroyed. The countdown for the destruction of the world has begun and only Momo can stop it. (Source: Starry Heaven)”

 

So I highly recommend you guys read it. The story is unique and very fun to read, and all the characters are lovable. Sure, everybody hates Miyuu for two chapters (I swear, everybody was badmouthing Miyuu in Mangafox forums) but you get over it and come to appreciate her like me, since she’s so cute and fickle.

 

Although romance is not the main “thing” of this manga, as many shoujo manga are (Kyou, Koi wo Hajimemasu and Watashi ni xx Shinsai), there is enough (between Nanagi and Yume) and Momo-chan’s story is cute enough to make up for all the romance!!! Plus the hot bishies Sanari and Nanagi too. They totally make up for it ;P

 

So I’m going to list the characters and talk about them, ‘kay? :D That’s not reviewing the manga, just sharing my opinions. I want my reviews to be kanpeki (perfect) and based on the WHOLE story (character growth, story, ending, art, etc) so I will do another full and proper review when the manga is finished.

 

Momo: despite being a “devil” that will eventually destroy the earth if Yume doesn’t show her seven great things about Earth, she is cute and kind and eager to have fun on earth. Plus she has a super sweet tooth- I hope devils don’t get cavities, lol. She is my favorite character because she’s cute (I know I’ve said that already) and the kindness she has shown so far makes me happy. The chapter where she became “the great devil” again and not “Momo-chan” made me very upset, even though I didn’t actually hate that chapter (it was quite good and I guess, in a way, necessary).

 

Yume: the heroine of the manga, huh. Not as cute as say, Miyuu or Momo, of course, but I totally don’t mind because Yume’s personality is so great and she is really the most fitting representative ever. She knows a lot about life and is great with children and her romance with Nanagi is so awesome!!! She’s very independent and hard working and loyal, which makes her also one of my favorite characters.

 

Miyuu: I totally love her now. I hated her for two chapters, like everybody else did, but now I’ve completely gotten over it and I totally love her! She’s SO pretty and cute cos she’s so fickle, you know? First falling for Nanagi and wanting to be rep and then totally dropping the rep thing and going for Sanari!!! LOL :D. And how Yume calls her “Miyuu-sama” in her mind is so cute. Plus, you can totally tell she’s a manga addict because of her messiah dreams and all. Also how she becomes Yume’s friend afterwards and makes a few appearances is good too!!

 

Nanagi: AAAAAHHHHHHH!!!! He is SO cool! If only his romance with Yume was more developed. But it’s okay for this manga because that’s not the point. He harbors a grudge against Momo at first because, although she saved his planet, she made him leave with her. But then he forgives her, which is really nice. Plus he and Yume are the only two representatives ever to really smile at Momo, so I think they are made for each other. Plus, Nanagi is very kind at hard with a kind of a dark past and everything which is really cool. I think he’s a great character and his attitude is kinda funny sometimes.

 

Sanari: I like him, I guess, but I got kind of suspicious of him during the chapter where Momo swapped personalities, since he looked super happy about Momo being the “great devil” again and often had this weird look on his face. But when he was asked out by Miyuu after the parent teacher conference, his expression was so funny! And Miyuu and Sanari are so cute together, I hope it all works out for them! That is, if Miyuu doesn’t change her mind and chase another guy again. :P

 

Okay, so I highly recommend Momo! It’s a very good manga, and you can find it on Mangareader.net (although that one had a missing chapter so maybe you should go to another website). Mangarush.com has better quality Momo manga and plus Mangareader is missing a chapter!

Momo: Thank you for reading, noda!

Maria

Please Comment :)

