Manga of the Week: Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle

Standard

Yay! The first Manga of the Week! And TSUBASA!!!! <3  >__<

Btw, I do not own this manga or these pictures, I got them from the internet. Sorry if I’m breaking some rules, I’m hazy about copyright law.

Here’s the awesome synopsis from My Anime List:

Synopsis

“The world is a very small place, but for those who know it…it is very, very large. And the world, when it is viewed by those who ‘know’— is far larger than just one world can hold!”

The famous CLAMP brings back the characters from all their creations for an ultimate showdown in this multi-dimensional tale.

This is the story of four travelers, bound by fate and by prophesied future. Sakura is the princess of Clow Country, and possessor of a strange power that promises to change the world. Syaoran is an aspiring archaeologist and her childhood friend. When Sakura is endangered by the plan a certain man has for the future, the princess’ memories are scattered across dimensions in the form of feathers, and Syaoran is forced to go on a desperate journey to retrieve them. They are accompanied by Fay D. Flourite, a magician running from the horrible truth of his past, and Kurogane, a rough-mannered ninja trying to get back to his world. However, the ability to cross worlds demands a great price, and each of them must pay the Dimensional Witch with what he or she values most. In order to save his princess, Syaoran must give up his relationship with her. Even if he gathers all of Sakura’s memories, she will never remember their past together…

But the world is not so simple. The very moment these four made this decision, their destinies are sealed into a tragic course…as everyone in the group has their own secrets. Visions of the future are seen, and prophesies are made. The cruel future which lies ahead reads only of betrayal, abandonment, devastation and anguish.

Man, who wrote this synopsis? It’s awesome!!

And I can’t help but notice both reviewers at the bottom gave Tsubasa a 10~ ;) You know what that means.

TSUBASA ROCKS!!!!!!!!

I’m serious! After watching a little bit of the anime a year ago, I thought it was so depressing that Sakura lost her memory, so I didn’t want to keep watching it. But when I started the manga, man, it’s so good! I think it’s better than the anime. I really do. Because I love love love love love it!!!!! >__<

Lots of things in the first few episodes of the anime that I didn’t like was not in the first few chapters of the manga! How awesome is that?

But let’s get serious now.

“Tsubasa is, without a doubt, the most incredible and epic crossover series to date.” – Faeverily from My Anime List

That is completely true. I mean, crossovers from Chobits, xxxHolic, Card Captor Sakura, etc? It’s got CLAMP written all over it! Right from the beginning, too! Makes it so much more interesting, especially if you’ve read Chobits, xxxHolic and CCS.

“I’m warning you that Tsubasa steadily grows to be extremely dark and depressing. The story plays out to be more than worthy of Greek tragedy. It’s a fool’s game trying to predict how it ends. I definitely recommend this if you like magical adventures, fighting action, or forbidden romance.” – Faeverily from My Anime List

I know. I know. WHICH IS WHY I LOVE IT. I keep saying how I don’t like reading too predictable manga?

Weeeell, it’s pretty safe to say Tsubasa is anything but predictable, right? ;)

Anyway, let’s talk about the first few chapters. From the first one, you see how cute and lively Sakura is, and how cute Sakura and Syaoran are together. You see a similar relationship between Yukito and Touya, just like in CCS. However, suddenly, CLAMP gives you an enormous surprise (actually, not so much because I watched a little bit of the anime already) and tells you Sakura loses her memory. Then the story takes a big turn from being a plain romance manga located in a desert to an epic tale that reaches across many worlds/realms about adventure, action and romance.

So Sakura, Syaoran meet two people called Fai and Kurogane and they start their journey to find all of Sakura’s feathers. Tsubasa.

Cool, right? Gutsy and creative manga. That’s CLAMP for you.

So…
PASS (are you kidding? Of course!!!)

Rating: 10/10

Maria

2 responses »

Please Comment :)

