New York Anime/Manga Otaku Hotspot- Kinokuniya Bookstore

Standard

If you’re like me and are not just an anime/manga otaku, but a all round Japan lover, then one place you must go to in New York is the Kinokuniya Bookstore.

I looooooooove this place!!!!!!!

Three floors of pure otaku heaven, it has Japanese and English books/magazines, Japanese and English manga, anime, Japanese music, t-shirts, Japanese food and a whole floor of Japanese culture souvenirs.

It’s not just a bookstore, it’s a Japan-themed bookstore!! Some stuff it has:
-cute stationary
-Japanese souvenirs
-felt make-it-yourself packets
-anime
-manga
-Japanese music
-architecture & design books
-Japanese and English books/magazines
-t shirts
-some anime figurines and other merchandise (not a LOT, but it’s there)
-an awesome cafe that sells Japanese bentos and onigiri, coffee and tea

Although the Japanese souvenirs are kinda pricey, the manga is pretty normally priced, and it’s still very fun to check out all the Japanese stuff!! Some are not too expensive, so it’s not like you can’t get anything there. They even have yukatas (in three sizes and different colored patterns), which are, like, 99 dollars, which was the only thing that was stopping me from getting one more thing off my wish list. ;)

The second thing I gotta say is: Cafe Zaiya. AWESOME. Located on the second floor of the bookstore, a small but awesome cafe full of Japanese treats! Like, there’s spicy shrimp (tempura) onigiri!!!! SO YUMMY! And bentos, and other onigiri flavors like ume onigiri and stuff. And there’s a good collection of coffee and cold drinks, and lots of small tables to sit at and eat.

I managed to get the last Full Moon wo Sagashite book (the 7th) here for $8.99, a little pricier than Bookoff, where I got the first six (not including 1 and 4, which I got last time I visited NYC), but still not horrendously expensive.

So it was an all round good trip. :) You should really go if you like anime, manga, Japanese music and Japanese culture!!! Ideal place for otakus like me :)
Maria

7 responses »

    • New York is awesome! :) All the good Chinese & Japanese restaurants… If I lived in NYC, Kinokuniya would be my first stop for manga and onigiri! Bookoff is cheaper though (with a wider selection) :P Thanks for taking the time to comment! ^_^

  1. @Justin: It’s really easy to find your way there, which is what I like about New York. And the fact that it’s got lots of good Chinese & Jap restaurants (yay) and stores with other culture. And it doesn’t hurt that it’s got Chinatown. :) Then I won’t have to miss Chinese food all the time. Too bad I don’t live in New York.

  2. Pingback: Japanese Dinner for Two with Green Tea | 4 Real Cheap

  3. Pingback: Otaku: The Obsessed Culture « Reply2Julian

  4. Appreciating the time and effort you put into your site and
    detailed information you provide. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information.
    Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your
    RSS feeds to my Google account.

Please Comment :)

