Live Drama of the Week: Zettai Kareshi/Absolute Boyfriend

Standard

Wow, this is a first! Live Drama of the Week is just like Anime of the Week and Manga of the Week, except we’re talking about the live action adaptations of animes and/or mangas!!

Disclaimer: I do not own this live drama television series or these pictures, I got them from the internet and linked them to where I got them from.Synopsis from Wikipedia:

“Japanese adaptation

A live-action adaptation of the manga began airing on Fuji TV on April 15, 2008 and ran for eleven episodes until its conclusion on June 24, 2008. In the live-action version, Riiko Izawa is an office lady in search of a boyfriend, and she ends up in possession of a “robot” known as Night Tenjo, who is programmed to be the perfect boyfriend. However, this creates a love triangle with a distinguished young man at her company who also has feelings for her. Riiko is played by Saki Aibu, Night is played by Mokomichi Hayami, and Soshi Asamoto is played by Hiro Mizushima.[21]

On March 24, 2009, a special episode of this series was released and featured 3 years after the last episode of the series, whereas Riiko had become a patissier and is engaged to Soshi Asamoto; and Night was suddenly revived by a Kronos Heaven employee, who wanted to use his individual ego to her own gain.”

Honestly, I’ve been wanted to watch the live drama series of Zettai Kareshi for a REALLY long time, and I know YuzuHoney has watched it.

And here’s my review of the first six episodes, out of the eleven episodes in total. Each epsidode is 50 minutes long.

Very, very different from the manga. First of all, they aged up the characters a LOT. Riiko is not a high school student, but a young adult living alone in Tokyo with a job at a sweets company called ASAMOTO. This changes the storyline a lot, and we lose a lot of the endearing moments and plots in the manga.

Namikiri is different as well, but I like him just as much as the one in the manga. Quirky, with spiky hair, but somehow more serious in the live drama.

Mika is probably even more cruel in the live drama, not just interfering with Riiko’s love life, but her job as well. D: In the manga, I had hoped Mika and Riiko would become friends again. I wonder if that’s what will happen in the live drama…

The big difference is Soshi. Soshi is no longer Riiko’s dependable childhood friend, but a player with a cool, lazy attitude and hidden feelings, in a much higher rank that Riiko in the company. Soshi is less serious, more playful, and much more likable. I think, in the live drama, it would be awesome if Riiko ended up with Soshi. Not in the manga though, but in the live drama, I think Riiko is better for Soshi.

I don’t like the live drama Riiko like I liked the manga Riiko. The live drama Riiko has feelings for Soshi more than she has for Night, and I approve of that (only for the live drama series because Soshi is better for her in the live drama), but Riiko is completely ungrateful and even cruel to poor Night, always brushing him off and losing her temper with him. I hope she changes her attitude towards Night afterwards.

At first, the live drama was addictive, but when Riiko started being a bitch to poor Night, I didn’t really like it as much.

But hey, I’m not judging until I’ve finished. So…

PASS
8.5/10

Maria

2 responses »

  1. I discovered the manga after watching the drama, but I felt the same way about Riiko! She is so annoying in the live version. I was practically shouting at the tv for her to stop complaining, pack up Night and send him to me!

    • I know, right? That screenshot of Riiko and Night getting chummy is misleading though… I wonder if she becomes better afterwards? Does she? If she does, please tell me and I might just finish watching the drama.

Please Comment :)

