Anime of the Week: Puella Magi Madoka Magica

Standard

Here’s the synopsis from My Anime List:

“Synopsis

Beloved family, good friends, laughter and tears – these things make up the ordinary life of Kaname Madoka, a second year student of Mitakihara City Middle School. One night, Madoka dreams of a mysterious dark haired girl struggling against a terrible evil; the next morning she discovers that the girl, Akemi Homura, has transferred into her class. This encounter will lead to an incident which will alter Madoka’s fate forever.”

Sounds epic, doesn’t it? I can’t wait! A new mahou shoujo series! I used to pine for a good anime to watch, and now suddenly 4 animes I want to watch appear in front of me and I don’t know which to watch first or how to juggle schoolwork and reading Tsubasa (manga) as well! Plus, I am very concerned about my eyesight. XD

Anyway, here’s my review of the first episode:

Amazing graphics. Great OP. I’m pretty sure this is set in the future, too. Their house is HUGE, and I’m pretty sure that painting was changing every five minutes. Plus, I’ve never seen a school like that that’s not a boarding school.

But the plot sounds so complicated. A much darker version of mahou shoujo and an anime that can be enjoyed by anyone, even non mahou shoujo fans. I’m impressed… but I’m not sure if I want to watch it. It’s the kind of anime that can make a person go quiet and just watch. No laughing, no crying: maybe later in the anime.

I’ve read all the spoilers (yes, I’m that kind of person. I don’t want anyone to ruin the story for me, especially for romance plots, but this anime sort of creeps me out) and I know all about Homura and her looping (XD, phrasing it like that so people who know gets it and people who don’t do not get it). A very unique anime worth watching, but it’s just not my thing. I’m more of a romance based shoujo fan, not that any shoujo anime or manga doesn’t have romance (it just needs to be more of the center of things but not completely the center of things, and must be paired with a great plot and great characters).

So…

NO SCORE (I can continue watching it if I wanted but I’m not sure I do so…)

9/10

Maria

 

5 responses »

  1. Oh wow, I don’t see how anyone can truly appreciate this show by spoiling themselves…. I came in not expecting anything and enjoyed, my co-host got spoiled and hated it.

    I think this show relies a lot on the twists and crazy dark stuff it relies on, so it’s a good move to not spoil it… but I hope you can still enjoy it.

    • I decided not to watch it… As I said, I’m more of a romance based Shoujo fan. Madoka is mahou shoujo but it’s a lot darker and I’ve got so many other animes waiting for me to watch (chobits, kobato, tsubasa) so I can’t…

      • I like sports Shoujo, well specifically Ace wo Nerae. I loved it so much that it is subject of the next episode of AG. Dezaki really knows how to make shoujo.

  2. Pingback: Download Your Favorite Anime! | Anime Downloads

  3. Pingback: Grachi Magica - Uma história Maravilhosamente Magica

Please Comment :)

